My Father’s Life

This is my father, Jimmy Nguyen, and I.

As a homework assignment in my English class, my classmates and I were expected to interview a family member that could talk about how it was like growing up and describe specific places/events that have occurred.

I interviewed my father and one question I asked him was what was his house like in Vietnam. He answered back with the measurements of “5 meters wide and 30 meters tall,” and that him and his brothers would sleep on the ground of the second story because they were quite poor at the time.

This made me realize how lucky I am to have a bed, food on my plate, and a roof over my head. I feel as if many people take these little things for granted and don’t realize how luxurious of a life they actually have.

Leave a Reply

