A Long Journey

Junior year. It would be an understatement to say that it was the most stressful year in my entire life. Sleepless nights, endless amounts of homework, emotional distress. Although many tears were dropped, I’ve learned a great deal from this crazy experience.

My English class definitely helped shape the way I think academically and out of the class.

As a learner, I have broadened my sense of wonder beyond just the boundaries of what common core tells me what to answer with. I have gained a different curiosity when I’m faced with certain questions like those during socratic seminars. Although I do not talk much in class, I like to go home and analyze things myself… where I can be expressive about what I have to say on an issue without being scared of what others might think.

Through this class, I have become more innovative through my writing like in my description essay about my mother. In that essay, I was able to really put words of passion for the immense love I have for her. That essay let me be creative with what I have to say to my mom, even if it’s not directly to her. Out of all assignments, I without doubt loved writing the description essay the most. It let me break out of a construct, strict square and evolve into something much bigger with my words.

The permanent way

Photo ©2013 by Simon Roberts [CC-BY-NC-ND-2.0]

Moving back up to the beginning of the year, meeting my fellow classmates in English class was certainly something I will never regret. They taught me that being myself is the best thing I could ever do with my life… that if I was ever scared of not fitting in with a group, all I had to do is just be my true self.

What is the most effective way to connect human beings?

They helped me answer that question from Catcher in the Rye. The most effective way to connect with one another is to share ourselves and show that we care about what each other has to say. In spite of the fact that words say a lot, actions are what truly attaches everyone together and my friends in English class really showed me what that means.

33905384654_b5608d1ef7_o

Photo taken by Victoria Nguyen.

But, a few weeks ago, I went to UCLA and heard about this inverted fountain. Every newcomer is “initiated” into the school their freshman year, showing that they’re a Bruin for the rest of their lives. As I was thinking about this, I pondered about what they must have been feeling as they touched the water.

Were they filled with hope and joy? Were they scared about what’s to come? Will I feel nervous or excited when I go to college? What will happen to me?

But you see, nervousness is exactly the problem. Because I was so nervous, I was too afraid to do some things in high school like going out to club events, trying out for a competition, being myself, etc…. the list would just go on and on, all originating from the fact that I was too scared.

If I could’ve ever turn back time and redo high school all over again, I’d go for all opportunities and not be scared for what others might think.

I wish I knew that my parents were always there for me. I wish I knew that being spontaneous was the best thing I could ever do with my life. I wish I knew that I shouldn’t have wasted so much time focusing on the negative. I wish I knew that it was okay to ask for help. I wish I knew that quality is always better than quantity.

Despite everything I wish I knew earlier in high school, I’m glad I learned them by this point in my life.

img_3149-2

Photo taken by Victoria Nguyen.

 

Now, the countdown to summer is nearly ending and the year is coming to a close.

My English class this year has taught me so much: how to improve my writing, how to analyze books, and it showed me what is coming up next in my life – college.

Through the college and career project, I learned so much more about my future and what I really want in it. I found out that I really wanted to escape to UCSC, a school surrounded by nature and not city-life. I discovered so many different career paths and resolved to being an engineer, specifically a computer or mechanical engineer. I familiarized myself with everything I would need to do before I leave high school…

…. leaving high school….

Wow, I can’t believe I’m about to leave high school. It’s all going to be over in about a year, and I will enter a new chapter into my life. That’s just so shocking to think about..

So I end with this last blog post.

Thank you everyone for shaping me into the person today. Thank you for all the support and love I’ve gotten since day 1. Thank you for those that didn’t give up on me, and those that did because you taught me how to stand up for myself. Thank you for believing in me and encouraging me to strive on.

Thank you Mr. Z. Thank you for the smile that’s always on your face when I walk in the class. Thank you for lifting me up when I’m down. Thank you for giving me a chance to express myself. Thank you for accepting me for me.

June 16, 2017 – and with this one, last blog post of junior year, Victoria Nguyen, signing out.

19620106346_4558704f28_o

Photo taken by Victoria Nguyen of Amy Tran.

3 thoughts on “A Long Journey

  1. I loved how personal your post was, and I could really get a sense of how down-to-earth you are! We learn a lot through junior year, and I loved how you combined personal and academic growth to explain your major achievements. It was a beautiful read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

